Jump to content

The Forum of Election Management Bodies of South Asia


11th FEMBoSA Meeting

On behalf of Election Commission of Bhutan, H.E. Major General Vetsop Namgyel, Ambassador of Bhutan to India accepted FEMBoSA Logo from Shri Sushil Chandra for Election Commission of Bhutan assuming the role of new Chair of FEMBoSA 2021-22

News Ticker
  • 11th Meeting of the FEMBoSA was hosted by Election Commission of Bhutan on 11 August 2021 in virtual format
  • Bangladesh


    Bangladesh Election Commission

    Article 118 of the Constitution provides for the establishment of an Election Commission for Bangladesh consisting of the Chief Election Commissioner and not more than four Election Commissioners. The appointment of the Chief Election Commissioner and other Election Commissioners (if any) is made by the President. When the Election Commission consists of more than one person, the Chief Election Commissioner is to act as its Chairman. Under the Constitution the term of office of any Election Commissioner is five years from the date on which he enters upon office. A person who has held office as Chief Election Commissioner is not eligible for appointment in the service of the Republic. Any other Election Commissioner is, on ceasing to hold such office, eligible for appointment as Chief Election Commissioner, but is not eligible for appointment in the service of the Republic. Powers of Election Commission (Article 118(4) and 126 of the Constitution, read with Article 4 of the Representation of the People Order, 1972): The Election Commission is an independent constitutional body in the exercise of its functions and subject only to the Constitution and any other law. The Commission may authorize its Chairman or any of its members or any of its officers to exercise and perform all or any of its powers and functions under the law. Article 126 of the Constitution and Articles 4 and 5 of the Representation of the People Order, 1972 provide that it shall be the duty of all executive authorities to assist the Election Commission in the discharge of its functions. The Commission has the power to require any person or authority to perform such functions or render such assistance for the purpose of electron as it may direct

    Visit Website

    Constituents of Election Commission


    K M Nurul Huda
    Chief Election Commissioner
    Mahbub-Talukdar.jpg Rafiqul-Islam.jpg Kabita-Khanam.jpg Brigadier-General-Shahadat-Hossain-Chowdhury.jpg
    Mahbub Talukdar
    Election Commissioner
    Md. Rafiqul Islam
    Election Commissioner
    Kabita Khanam
    Election Commissioner
    Brigadier General Shahadat Hossain Chowdhury (retd.)
    Election Commissioner


  • Create New...