



11th Meeting of Forum of the Election Management Bodies of South Asia (FEMBoSA)

AGENDA

Theme: "Use of Technology in Elections"

11th August 2021 (Wednesday) Thimphu: Bhutan

Hosted by Election Commission of Bhutan



FORUM OF THE ELECTION MANAGEMENT BODIES OF SOUTH ASIA

Thimphu: Bhutan



General Session		
IST (GMT +5:30)	Activities	
09:00 AM	Enable the Zoom Link	
10:00 - 10:30 AM (30 minutes)	Opening Ceremony National Anthems of all FEMBoSA Member Countries	
10:30 - 10:45 AM (15 minutes)	Welcome Address Mr. Dawa Tenzin, Hon'ble Election Commissioner Election Commission of Bhutan	
10:45 - 10:55 AM (10 minutes)	Stewardship Report Shri Umesh Sinha, Secretary General Election Commission of India	
10:55 - 11:10AM (15 minutes)	Address by Chairperson, FEMBoSA H.E. Shri Sushil Chandra Hon'ble Chief Election Commissioner Election Commission of India	
11:10 - 11:15 AM (5 minutes)	 Handing over of Chairmanship to the ECB H.E Major General Vetsop Namgyel, Ambassador of Bhutan to India to receive FEMBoSA Logo on behalf of Election Commission of Bhutan H.E. Shri Sushil Chandra Hon'ble Chief Election Commission of India 	
11:15 - 11:30 AM (15 minutes)	Acceptance Statement by New Chairperson H.E. Sonam Topgay Hon'ble Chief Election Commissioner Election Commission of Bhutan	
11:30 - 11:35 AM	Virtual Group Photo (5 Minutes)	
11:35 - 11:50 AM	Tea Break/Coffee Break (15 minutes)	

Technical Session A (Technical Session A shall be chaired by Mr. Ugyen Chewang, Hon'ble Election Commissioner Election Commission of Bhutan)Experience sharing by the Heads of EMBs on the assigned topics in the context of COVID-19 Pandemic		
12:10 - 12:30 PM (20 minutes)	Topic: Use of Technology in Election Management Presentation: 5 minutesDiscussion: 10 minutesBrigadier General Shahadat Hossain Chowdhury (retd.)Hon'ble Election Commissioner Election Commission of Bangladesh	
12:30 - 12:50 PM (20 minutes)	Topic: Use of Technology in Elections <i>Presentation: 5 minutes</i> <i>Discussion: 10 minutes</i> Sri Sudeep Jain, Deputy Election Commissioner Election Commission of India	
12:50 - 01:10 PM (20 minutes)	Topic: Use of Technology for Improving Efficiency and Credibility of Elections Presentation: 5 minutes Discussion: 10 minutesMr. Ahmed Aneel, Director Information Communication and Technology Division Election Commission of Maldives	

01:10 - 01:30 PM (20 minutes)	Topic: Use of Technology to Improve the Capacity of Stakeholders in the Election Process Presentation: 5 minutes Discussion: 10 minutesMr. Komal Prasad Dhamala, Under Secretary 	
01:30 - 02:15 PM	Lunch Break (45 minutes)	
02:15 - 02:35 PM (20 minutes)	Presentation by Pakistan <i>Presentation: 5 minutes</i> <i>Discussion: 10 minutes</i>	
02:35 - 02:55 PM (20 minutes)	 Topic: Use of Technology in Media Monitoring including Social Media in Elections Presentation: 5 minutes Discussion: 10 minutes Mr. K.U.G.S.N. Kaluwewe, Additional Commissioner of Elections Election Commission of Sri Lanka 	
02:55 - 03:15 PM (20 minutes)	Topic: Use of Technology for enhancing Transparent, Accessible and Inclusive Voting Presentation: 5 minutes Discussion: 10 minutesMr. Ugyen Chewang, Hon'ble Election Commissioner Election Commission of Bhutan	
NB: 5 minutes each	NB: 5 minutes each is for MC to introduce the presenters and coordinate the	

discussion.

Technical Session B		
03:15 - 03:45 PM (30 minutes)	 Next Steps for 12th FEMBoSA Finalizing Host Country for 12th FEMBoSA Finalizing Theme for 12th FEMBoSA Chair: H.E. Sonam Topgay Hon'ble Chief Election Commissioner Election Commission of Bhutan 	
Technical Session C		
03:45 - 04:15 PM (30 minutes)	 Reading of the Thimphu Resolution to the Plenary Mr. Mani Kumar Ghalay, Chief Planning Officer Chief Rapporteur Adoption of Thimphu Resolution 2021 Chair: H.E. Sonam Topgay Hon'ble Chief Election Commissioner Election Commission of Bhutan 	
04:15 - 04:30 PM	Tea Break/Coffee (15 minutes)	
Concluding Session		
04:30 - 04:50 PM (20 minutes)	Concluding Remarks (If it so pleases the Hon'ble Heads of EMBs)	
04:50 - 05:00 PM (10 minutes)	Concluding Remarks by the Chairperson H.E. Sonam Topgay Hon'ble Chief Election Commissioner Election Commission of Bhutan	
05:00 - 05:05 PM (5 minutes)	Vote of Thanks Mr. Phub Dorji, Director, Department of Civic & Electoral Training	